Watch NASA’s Artemis 1 lunar rocket launch on November 16 online for free

0

Update for 5 p.m. ET, November 14: NASA will hold a pre-launch teleconference at the earliest 6:00 p.m. EST (23:00 GMT) tonight to discuss the Artemis 1 launch plan as engineers carry out minor repairs caused by recent storms at its Florida launch site.


NASA’s massive Artemis 1 rocket is counting down to a second launch attempt to return the moon and when it does, you can watch the historic mission live online for free.

The Artemis 1 mission must be launched as soon as possible Wednesday, November 16 at 1:04 a.m. EST (06:04 GMT) NASA’s Pad 39B Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida.

NASA will host a series of webcasts leading up to the uncrewed launch of Artemis 1, which will mark the first test flight of the Space Launch System megarocket with its Orion spacecraft. The launch day webcast will feature special guests like actors Chris Evans, Jack Black and Keke Palmer.

Related: NASA’s Artemis 1 Lunar Mission: Live Updates

The last time such a powerful rocket exploded on a KSC pad was in 1973, when a Saturn V Moon Rocket carried Skylab into orbit, marking the end of the Apollo era, so this month’s event should be quite a spectacle.

Related: NASA’s Artemis 1 Lunar Mission: Live Updates

According to NASA (opens in a new tab), the space agency will provide comprehensive coverage of Artemis I pre-launch, launch and post-launch activities as the candle lights. This capital uncrewed dress rehearsal around the moon will pave the way for a crewed test flight to the moon with 2024 Artemis 2and a true lunar landing by 2025 as part of Artemis 3.

Those who are lucky enough to be join the Artemis 1 show in Florida will be treated to the shock and awe of 8.8 million pounds of thrust battling gravity and propelling the sleek SLS rocket and Orion space capsule in the heavens. For the rest of us, NASA has just released its schedule for the free live stream to watch the mission from the safety and comfort of our own homes.

Live coverage of the event will be shown on Space.com courtesy of NASA Television, the NASA mobile app (opens in a new tab)and the official website of the agency (opens in a new tab)with pre-launch activities to stream as well.

Sure, it might not provide the same epic experience that thrilling takeoff from Earth will, but it’s the next best thing and you don’t have to worry about heat, parking hassles, or huge crowds.

Stages of the Artemis 1 mission to the moon. (Image credit: NASA)

On launch day, a live stream of the festivities includes celebrity appearances from Jack Black, Chris Evans and Keke Palmer, plus a patriotic performance by “The Star-Spangled Banner” Courtesy of Josh Groban and Herbie Hancock. Next, we’ll hear “America the Beautiful” performed by The Philadelphia Orchestra and cellist Yo-Yo Ma, conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Here’s a look at upcoming launch activities leading up to liftoff.

Sunday, November 13: 7 p.m. ET – Artemis 1 Launch Readiness Briefing

On Sunday November 13NASA will preview its Artemis 1 launch with a pre-launch press conference at the L-2 landmark approximately 48 hours before scheduled liftoff.

The press conference will begin at 7:00 p.m. EST (0000 GMT), mission managers indicating whether the Artemis 1 lunar rocket is ready to fly again. This will come after a one-day mission management team meeting. Will intervene during the briefing:

  • Bill Nelson, NASA Administrator
  • Mike Sarafin, Artemis Mission Leader, NASA Headquarters
  • Charlie Blackwell-Thompson, Artemis Launch Director, Exploration Ground Systems Program, Kennedy
  • Emily Nelson, Chief Flight Director, NASA Johnson
  • Melody Lovin, Weather Officer, US Space Launch Delta 45

Monday, November 14: 12:00 p.m. ET – Artemis 1 Pre-Release Briefing

NASA will hold a press conference on Monday, November 14 at 12:00 p.m. EST (17:00 GMT) to review the status of the Artemis 1 lunar rocket launch countdown.

The following will take part in this briefing:

  • Jeremy Parsons, Deputy Exploration Ground Systems Program Director, NASA Kennedy
  • Melody Lovin, Weather Officer, US Space Launch Delta 45

Tuesday, November 15: 3:30 p.m. ET – Artemis 1 supply coverage begins

The third launch attempt for NASA’s Artemis 1 lunar mission will actually begin on Tuesday, November 15, when NASA begins fueling the Space Launch System rocket. This refueling process should begin at 3:30 p.m. EST (8:30 p.m. GMT).

The core stage of the SLS rocket can hold approximately 730,000 gallons of super cold liquid oxygen and hydrogen, so loading this booster will take up to 3 or 4 hours.

There is a critical moment to watch in refueling: the early cooling of the four main engines of the SLS rocket, something that is vital for the launch to proceed. NASA successfully tested this step during a refueling test in September.

Tuesday, November 15: 10:30 p.m. ET – Full Artemis 1 launch coverage

The webcast of NASA’s full launch coverage for Artemis 1 will resume on November 15 at 10:30 p.m. EST (03:30 GMT). This part of the agency’s webcast will be in English.

“The coverage will continue through translunar injection and spacecraft separation, setting Orion on its way to the Moon,” NASA wrote in a description.

Wednesday, November 16: 12 p.m. ET – Artemis 1 broadcast in Spanish

One hour before launch, NASA will begin its webcast in Spanish chronicling the Artemis 1 mission. It is scheduled to begin at 12:00 a.m. EST (0500 GMT).

The webcast will take place during the launch and the first 15 minutes of the mission after liftoff. After launch, you can get updates in Spanish on Artemis 1 through the NASA en Español social media channels.

Wednesday, November 16: 1:04 a.m. ET – Liftoff of Artemis 1

It’s the moment of truth for NASA’s Artemis 1 mission: the first launch window for the Space Launch System rocket at 1:04 a.m. EST (0604 GMT).

NASA actually has a two-hour window to try to launch the SLS booster, so liftoff could happen anytime between 1:04 a.m. to 3:04 a.m. EST (0604-0804 GMT)weather conditions and technical systems permitting.

Wednesday, November 16: 4:00 a.m. ET – Artemis 1 Post-Launch Briefing

After launch, NASA will hold a post-launch press conference scheduled no earlier than 1 hour after the launch broadcast ends. NASA is currently targeting this briefing for 4:00 a.m. EST (0900 GMT), the start time for this briefing, but that could change as the day progresses.

Below are the NASA officials scheduled to speak at the briefing.

  • Bill Nelson, NASA Administrator
  • Mike Sarafin, Artemis Mission Leader, NASA Headquarters
  • Mike Bolger, Ground Systems Exploration Program Manager, Kennedy
  • John Honeycutt, Space Launch System Program Manager, Marshall
  • Howard Hu, Orion Program Manager, NASA Johnson Space Center
  • Emily Nelson, Chief Flight Director, Johnson

Nov. 16: 8:30 a.m. ET – Orion’s Trajectory Burn

If all goes well with the launch, NASA will host a webcast to highlight the first trajectory maneuver to send the Artemis 1 Orion beyond Earth orbit and toward the moon.

The time of this coverage may change depending on the launch time of the Artemis 1 mission, but it is currently set to 8:30 a.m. EST (1:30 p.m. GMT).

Nov. 16: 10 a.m. ET – Orion seen from Earth

The final major event of Artemis 1’s launch day is when the Orion spacecraft is expected to broadcast its first views of Earth from space. It is planned for 10:00 a.m. EST (1500 GMT) on November 16.

Like the outbound trajectory maneuver, the timing of this broadcast is subject to change depending on the exact launch time and the health of the Orion spacecraft.

Previous Artemis 1 briefings

NASA’s Artemis 1 mission was delayed for months and saw two launch attempts on August 29 and September 3 that were foiled by technical and weather issues. For this latest campaign targeting a Nov. 16 launch, NASA held two status briefings on the Artemis 1 vehicle and its Orion spacecraft.

Here is an overview of these briefings/

November 3: Artemis 1 pre-deployment update

On Nov. 3, NASA held a press conference to discuss plans for deploying the Artemis 1 lunar rocket on Nov. 3. You can listen to a replay above.

Friday November 11: NASA Artemis 1 update after the storm

On Friday, Nov. 11, Jim Free, NASA Associate Administrator for Exploration Systems Development, held a teleconference to update the public on the status of the Artemis 1 lunar rocket following Tropical Storm Nicole.

Free detailed repair work and other activities to ensure the Artemis 1 rocket will be ready for launch on Nov. 16.

For a full rundown of all the talk and activity surrounding the exciting flight of Artemis 1, check out Detailed NASA coverage schedule (opens in a new tab).

Whether it’s finding a nice spot in person to watch Artemis 1 or following it all via NASA’s live streaming options, it’s destined to be the pyrotechnic spectacle of the year!


Source link

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.